History of the Museum

The ‘Eighteenth-century Estate” museum opened to the public in 1919 on the grounds of Count Sheremetev’s estate, which had been nationalized in 1918 in accordance with the decree issued by the Council of People’s Commissars. This decree was intended to guarantee the protection of the country’s cultural inheritance and its valuable works of art.

Neither the layout of the estate, nor the structure of the Palace and park pavilions, not even their architectural décor, have changed since the time when the estate was built, making Kuskovo a truly unique historical monument.

In 1932 the Moscow Museum of Porcelain, which had been founded in 1920 from the collections of such famous Russian porcelain collectors as Alexei Morozov, Lev Zubalov, and Boris Shchukin, was transferred to Kuskovo. In recent years this remarkable collection has been considerably enlarged as a result of the transfer to Kuskovo of valuable exhibits from the State Museum Reserve, and leading museums in Moscow and St.-Petersburg (including the Armoury and Hermitage). The museum has more than thirty thousand exhibits of ceramic and glass ware.